The Bahia Palace a big old house and a set of houses were collected and converted into palace in the late nineteenth century by the Moroccan architect El Mekki on behalf of the Grand Vizier Ba Ahmed ben Moussa said Hmad (1841-1900) . The best workmen and craftsmen of the country have worked continuously for six years (1894-1900).
The Bahia Palace is located in the medina of Marrakech along the northern edge of the district Mellah or Jewish quarter. Although the exact dates of the construction of the palace are unknown, the building was in use between 1859 and 1873 and was completed by 1900. The palace was built in two stages by two different men, a father and son who has served in grand viziers Alawite Cherifian.
The small Riyadh

It is an interior garden on which open rooms and niches. This is where Ba Hmad received government people in the great Council Chamber painted and perforated ceiling. It was also there that were built later the offices of Marshal Lyautey.

The small courtyard

Four rooms opening onto an open courtyard fully tiled with marble and zellij (tiles) were the private apartments of Ba Hmad; they were transformed in the time of Lyautey Room Officers.

The large marble courtyard called 'Court of Honor'

This is a huge courtyard (50 mx 30 m) open, paved with marble and zellij surrounded by a gallery with carved wooden columns, on which opens an imposing so-called reception room Boardroom, most great palace (20 mx 8 m) and whose ceiling is painted of great beauty.

The great riyad

It is the oldest part of the palace that had built the father of Hmad Ba, Si Moussa, completed in 1866-1867 and refitted thereafter. This riyad is distinguished, in addition to the garden, with two rooms and two niches with refined decoration.

Learn more about The Bahia Palace

The Bahia Palace has been well maintained over the last century by the Moroccan government and is currently used to receive foreign dignitaries. A part of the palace is occupied by the Moroccan Ministry of Cultural Affairs.

Le palais de la Bahia une grande demeure ancienne et un ensemble de maisons furent rassemblées et aménagées en palais à la fin du XIXème siècle par l’architecte marocain El Mekki pour le compte du grand vizir Ahmed ben Moussa dit Ba Hmad (1841-1900). Les meilleurs ouvriers et artisans du pays y ont travaillé sans interruption durant six ans (1894-1900).
Le Palais de la Bahia est situé dans la médina de Marrakech le long de la bordure nord du quartier Mellah , ou quartier juif . Bien que les dates exactes de la construction du palais ne sont pas connus , le bâtiment a été en service entre 1859 et 1873 et a été complété par 1900. Le palais a été construit en deux phases par deux hommes différents , un père et son fils qui l' a servi grands vizirs à alaouite chérifien .
Le petit riyad

C’est un jardin intérieur sur lequel s’ouvrent des salles et des niches. C’est là que Ba Hmad recevait les gens du gouvernement dans la grande salle du conseil au plafond peint et ajouré. C’est là également que furent aménagés, plus tard, les bureaux du maréchal Lyautey.

La petite cour

Quatre chambres s’ouvrant sur une cour à ciel ouvert entièrement carrelée de marbre et de zellij (carreaux de céramique) constituaient les appartements privés de Ba Hmad; elles ont été transformées au temps de Lyautey en chambre des officiers.

La grande cour de marbre dite ‘Cour d’honneur’

C’est une immense cour (50 m x 30 m) à ciel ouvert, dallée de marbre et de zellij entourée d’une galerie aux colonnes en bois découpé, sur laquelle s’ouvre une imposante salle de réception dite Salle de conseil, la plus grande du palais (20 m x 8 m) et dont le plafond peint est d’une grande beauté.

Le grand riyad

C’est la partie la plus ancienne du palais que fit édifier le père de Ba Hmad, Si Moussa, achevée en 1866-1867 et réaménagée par la suite. Ce riyad se distingue, en plus du jardin, par ses deux salles et ses deux niches à la décoration raffinée.

Savoir plus à propos Le Palais de la Bahia


Deux salles et deux niches donnent sur un espace couvert d’un plafond peint, éclairé par des panneaux de plâtre sculpté et finement ajouré.
Le Palais de la Bahia a été bien entretenu au cours du dernier siècle par le gouvernement marocain et est actuellement utilisé pour recevoir des dignitaires étrangers . Une partie du palais est occupé par le ministère marocain des Affaires culturelles .